Bavaria Flight History Airfield Museum Near Munich
From early glider construction to outer-space rocketry, the aircraft hangers in Schleissheim, twenty-five minutes from Munich, bring the fascination of flying to life with sixty aircraft on display covering aviation history from the inception of flight to modern aerodynamics. The main branch of Munich’s Deutsches Museum, on an island in the middle of the Isar River was not large enough to maintain an expanding collection of aircraft, so in 1992, the museum expanded it’s repair and restoration facility in the restored hangers of a former Luftwaffe aerodrome outside the village of Schleissheim, near the royal palaces, into a separate exhibition space.
The field and facility at Schleißheim were built in 1912 as a home for the Royal Bavarian Flying Corps (Königlich-Bayerische Fliegertruppen) and expanded as a flight training center between 1914 and 1918 during World War I. After the Nazis came to power the field was used as a training facility for fighters and bombers. The airfield was heavily bombed in 1945 with many hangers and housing buildings destroyed, but the main command center with the tower miraculously survived relatively intact. The field was used as an American air corps base for helicopters and by the modern German Bundeswehr. Military operations ended in 1981 and the field is now surrounded and used by private flying clubs. Occasionally, historic aircraft will be rolled out for take-offs and flights around the airfield.
While some of the Deutsches Museum’s important war aircraft are displayed in the Munich main museum insel building (see Deutsches Museum), the exhibition in three hangers at Schleissheim include early aviation development craft, gliders, post-war and supersonic jets, vertical takeoff aircraft, and helicopters. Among some of the displayed aircraft: a replica of the world's first production airplane, Otto Lilianthal's 1894 glider, a Folkwolfe Stieglitz bi-plane and WWI fighter stalwart Fokker D VII, Lockheed F104 Starfighter of the German Bundes Luftwaffe, Russian MiG 21 and MiG 23 and the first prototype of the Eurofighter EF-2000. Between the hangers, connected by an enclosed hallway, is an exhibition of the airfield’s history, radar observation and communication. Visitors are not allowed out on the field, except for special air show days.
A kids education center provides children an opportunity to steer model airplanes and practice pilot skills in the “Flying Circus". An observation deck allows viewing of the aircraft restoration work in the engineering section where the restorers at Schleissheim have been rebuilding a WWII era Heinkel He111 Bomber used in the film of “The Battle of Britain” (see Duxford Air Museum) since 2000 and have a few more years to go.
Museum is open daily from 9 am to 5 pm. Admission for adults is €6,
students €3 children under 6 are free. A combination ticket for
all three Deutsches Museum facilities, including the main museum, the
Transportation Center (Verkehrszentrum) south of the train station, and
Flugwerft Schleisheim is €17.
To get to the Flight Works at Schleissheim, by car take the A99 to the
Neuherberg exit or Ingolstadter Strasse all the way out from Munich Center,
look for the signs
and follow the long drive. By S-Bahn take the S1, direction Freising-Flughafen
to the Oberschleißheim Station. The
Flugwerft Schleissheim aviation museum can easily be combined with a
visit to the
Bavarian Royal Palaces of Schleissheim for a day outing. They are next
to one another, but a foot or bike only path connects them by a 5 minute
walk. The museum has a small snack shop, but for a long day there is
a traditional beer garden restaurant on the grounds of the Schleissheim
Palace park. © Bargain
Best vacation deals compare prices in Munich on TripAdvisor
Deutsches Museum Flugweft
These articles are copyrighted and the sole property of Bargain Travel Europe and WLPV, LLC. and may not be copied or reprinted without permission.